“The N-word”

Recently in the NFL, there has been a couple cases of racial slurs being used against African-Americans of the community and of those in the NFL.

“The N-word” is a very derogatory word that so many people of our society do use in everyday life. But as I am sitting here listening to the ESPN reporters say “Richie Incognito is (suspected) to say ‘The N-word…“, I can’t help to feel that saying the phrase “The  N-word” is no more politically correct than actually saying it. It is almost a way of saying it, by not really saying it. I can almost see how they say “Blah blah blah said the “N-word” as a way to look dead into the camera and try to telepathically transmit the message of “you know what I’m sayin’!”

I understand that there are not a lot of other ways to say what that word is, but I don’t believe you need too many of them either. A simple “Richie Incognito used a derogatory term towards Jonathan Martin”. I just see saying “The N-word” as very childish. It is such a taboo word that nobody can help to say. The use of the aforementioned phrase takes me back to the days on the playground where it was so very common to be tattled on by the jungle gym nerds after telling them that “I was gonna kick their ‘A-word’.

Please… Please reporters, businessmen/women, and any other sort of educated humanoids; if you wish to use such profound and articulate words and phrases in all other senses, then use a phrase other than “The N-word”.

 

Leave a comment